PDA

View Full Version : Weakness is my game.

kansaspoker
03-07-2005, 08:16 AM
Well, I have been playing poker for roughly two years now and managed to fine tune my game. I still have many weaknesses, and I am going to share one with you. I have noticed that many players have too inflated ego and will not admit to themselves that they have any leaks and weaknesses, thus not ever improving their game.

Time after time, they continually lose money, only to fault it to other circumstances other then their own bad play.

Here is a timeline that I have come across as my improvements as a player and eliminating my weaknesses in my game.

#1 Playing too many hands. --- Wow, what a leak this was. When I first started out, I was playing way too many hands. I was all about seeing flops because any two cards can win. Well, this was the first major leak I fixed. There is no real way around fixing this leak until you lose many times.

#2 Calling with overcards. --- Ok, now I only played good cards, so now that I had them, I gotta get good use out of them. So I start with Ace Queen and call and see a flop. Flop comes out 2,5,9.. I completely missed the flop. I waited so long to get these beautiful starting cards and the flop completely misses me. The big blind bets..... I gotta call... the turn might be an ace or queen..... Turn is a 10.... I missed again...... Big blind bets again... I cant lay down Ace Queen... there is the river.... I might get an Ace or Queen... I learned that can not get married to a hand, you gotta learn to lay it down.