PDA

View Full Version : Why cant i make profit playin poker

venufine
12-14-2007, 08:30 AM
I been playin for about 3 years online. can win tourneys with 600 people in them. i can place first in freerolls of 3500. i can make $300 playin ring games. i have read around 10 books on poker, including power poker. i have an A level in maths, and an above average knowledge of psychology. and i play patient, rarely tilt. i understand pot odds, implied odds and reverse pot odds. i dont over or underbluff. i fold crap hands an mix up my play. i play about 5 hours a day, everyday. yet i still cant make profit, always seem to break even. you know, grind out $50 to $100, then someone sucks out 3 rivers in a row to bust me back to 50. What am i doing wrong?

dpvoices2
01-25-2008, 03:23 AM
I am by no means a poker pro, but over the last year or so I have consistently built my bankroll to the point where I know I am no longer going to be "breaking even." I too was going through something similar in that I would win tournaments get my money up a bit then get knocked back time by people sucking out on me or something like that. I'd read a bunch of books, put in a good amount of hours, understood odds, etc. but the real turning point for me was making good but difficult lay downs. You may not know what that player made or maybe they had it all along, but when all of the sudden you don't feel so strong even if your hand is amazing there is only one play...let it go! For god sakes people, let your hands go. One example that happened the other day: