PDA

View Full Version : Need a rules clarification


jpriscilla
11-26-2005, 06:10 AM
I am very bitter. I was playing in a hold em game tonight the following happened. There was 10 people left $110 buy in top 4 cash. I was in the Big Blind - was delt 4, 6 - the flop came 2, 3, 5 . I bet $20,000. two guys stayed one went all in. After the 5th and final card was played I bet $20,000 again, the guy two my left pushed his cards in and said "I'm out" the guy that was all in said "Thats it I'm done." so i through my cards to the dealer the landed face down. The gut that was all in said "you folded" I said "No I had A straight you said you were done" His wife began to chime in and said I doesnt matter if My cards were given to the dealer face down I folded. All the bets were in all the cards were dealt - The guy said "That's It I'm done" In my opinion This was extremeley deceptive. The dealer awarded him the hand. and it cost me a chance to cash - i would like some opinions. I have been told by someone else that once all the cards have been dealt and there can be no more bets the hand is over and you can't fol and the dealer should of asked to see my cards. Please some opionions.

KatieG
11-26-2005, 06:36 AM
The rule most places is "cards speak". Since your cards went in the muck, you couldn't prove you won the hand. What he said doesn't matter, unless he announced "fold". You both should have turned over the cards. By putting your cards in the muck you basically said you were conceding the hand. If he had done it first then you would have won the hand. It's just like when betting when you put out chips, that action speaks for you if you're calling or raising without a verbal announcement. Putting your cards in the muck prior to the other player announced you were folding. Period.

jpriscilla
11-26-2005, 07:18 AM
i agree when the other player with a stack folded the dealer did not say "Turn Your cards Over" as he should of also my opponent saying "I'm done" in my mind signifies that he quits or folds - plus my cards were still seperate and werent collected - I realize im partially to blame, but to award him the hand when i fell that he decived me i feel was completely wrong

card4
11-28-2005, 01:19 AM
I agree that you should have just flipped over your hand. If a person is already all in, they can't really fold. This is an unfortunate situation. It really isn't the dealer's responsibility to ask to see your cards, or to guard your hand for that matter. I had a friend play in a casino once and he didn't put a chip over his cards. His pocket kings accidentily got mucked and there was nothing he could do. It is a player's responsibility to keep up with his or her own cards. If you are unsure whether or not your hand is the winning once all cards have been dealt, you can flip them up and have the dealer read the hand but if you toss in your cards face down, the dealer is not going to flip them over and check to see if you had the best hand.

peyton999
06-19-2007, 06:22 PM
I agree that you should have just flipped over your hand.- I realize im partially to blame, but to award him the hand when i fell that he decived me i feel was completely wrong...