PDA

View Full Version : Longest cold streak ?

infantrydad@hotmail.com
08-12-2005, 02:09 AM
I am in hell lately lol the cards just arent flowing the rightdirection for the last month. I mean nothing but crap starting hands and when i do get soemething decent everyone folds it off even after a minimum bet. how long was your longest cold streak and what did you do to break it?

card4
08-12-2005, 02:35 AM
Every poker player goes through streaks of cold cards. I can relate completely since I just came off my worst month financially playing poker in July. I of course don't win every time out but last month was the first time I had a negative total since I started playing. It seemed like I was constantly making second best hands or getting drawn out on. There is nothing more frustrating then getting junk hands for an hour and then when you finally pick up a big pair, someone playing junk draws out on you and wins.

I still don't know that the cards have gone my way too much this month. I've been lucky and able to get away with a few bluffs in the sessions that I've played this month to have a small amount in the plus column. I think QQ may be the best hand I've gotten this month and I had to fold that on the flop in a multiway pot when both an ace and king hit. Of course, I haven't played a lot of Holdem so far this month either. I've been playing tounraments and O8B in ring games mostly. After a dissapointing July, I also haven't been playing as much as usual. One of the leaks in my game is playing when I don't have enough time and so I'm rushed and not completely focused on the table.